Action Blu-ray Movies

G.I. Joe Retaliation – A great gadget, action, martial arts and explosions feast

G.I. Joe RetaliationG.I. Joe Retaliation by Jon M. Chu on Blu-ray
My rating: 9 out of 10 stars

Framed for crimes against the country, the G.I. Joe team is terminated by Presidential order. This forces the G.I. Joes into not only fighting their mortal enemy Cobra; they are forced to contend with threats from within the government that jeopardize their very existence.

This movie is all about action, gadgets, martial arts and explosions, lots of explosions. It has no pretentions whatsoever about being a deep movie, requiring or inspiring some thinking on the viewer’s part or having an elaborate plot. This movie is all about entertaining the intended audience with a roller coaster ride of gadget filled fighting, shooting and blowing things up style of action. As far as that objective goes it is “mission accomplished” with flying colors.

The story is nothing fantastical but I have seen far far worse. It does hold together pretty well and it does serve as a decent enough foundation for stringing all the action scenes together. The gadgetry is generally quite cool but at the same time the movie is not all gadgets. There is plenty of old fashioned martial arts fighting as well as plain guns a’ la “shoot first, shoot later and then shoot some more”. The special effects are more than decent as well.

I did like Dwayne Johnson in the role of “Roadblock”. It is not exactly Shakespeare material but I think he fits this particular role quite well. I also liked Bruce Willis as General Joe Colton. He did not show up until the second half of the movie but I quite liked it when he did. The scene where he starts to reveal his hidden weapons caches in his house is almost hilarious. At first I thought okay, a few guns, what are they going to do with that little inventory but then he just went on and on and on. It was quite fun.

To me, watching this movie was simply loads of fun. It is just the way I think an adaptation of a toy hero/comic book type of character or story should be done. Simple and action-filled. No silly character introspection, insecure heroes, feeling of guilt or screwed up romances. The heroes are heroes and the bad guys are bad guys (okay with one exception that confirms the rule) and that is it.

I hope they make a third one in the same style.

My Movie Collection

Leave a Reply

