Shattered Truth – Okay read.

Shattered Truth (Opus X, #2).
By Michael Anderle.
My rating ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ out of 5 stars.

The cover-up that could bring down the Federation.

On the fringes of human space, a murder will light a fuse and send two different people colliding together.

He’s a thirty-year veteran of military operations, she’s the youngest daughter of a wealthy business family.

Both used roundabout means to become detectives. She’s smart, he’s tactical. Now they need to learn from each other.

Mix in a very early high budget R&D AI created by the Military and we might have a problem.

For those trying to hide from justice.

This is the second book in the Opus X series and it is a decent continuation from the first one although I felt that I did indeed like the first one a bit more. Maybe because the novelty factor of the story and the characters had worn off a bit.

Our two main protagonists continue their quest to catch criminals and, at the same time, dig deeper into the conspiracy that got the marine Major’s soldiers killed.

The books is pretty much more of the same with respect to the first book. Eric and Lia are kicking ass and one actual improvement over the previous book is that this lazy dumbass police Captain from that book has been replaced by a much more competent one that is not only on their side but also do not shy away from cutting trough the political and administrative bullshit. At least for now.

One thing that annoyed me with the book is that there is a lot of bla bla dialogue between Eric and Lia, sometimes somewhat philosophical in nature. In small doses this is not a problem but in this book there’s quite a lot. Too much for me really.

Still, there is plenty of action as well as more interesting dialogue, character advancement (at least for Lia) as well as advancement of the overall story arc.

The book blurb is a typical Anderle blurb. Very dramatical but it doesn’t really say much about the story in the actual book. The blurb could fit just as well on the first book and probably on the next one as well. It is just a generic description of the series intended to sound cool and make you buy the book which is a bit annoying actually.

Anyway, the book was a decent read and I think I will continue the series… for now.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s