Action Blu-ray Movies

John Wick Chapter 2: Ehhh, what the f… happened?

I did enjoy the movie but not at all as much as I hoped I would.

John Wick Chapter 2 by Chad Stahelski on Blu-ray
My rating: ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Okay

John Wick 2John Wick is forced out of retirement by a former associate looking to seize control of a shadowy international assassins’ guild. Bound by a blood oath to aid him, Wick travels to Rome and does battle against some of the world’s most dangerous killers.

I was really hoping I would like this movie. I so enjoyed the first one. However, when the credits started to roll at the end I found myself wondering “What the fuck happened?”.

Be warned that the rest of this review might contain a spoiler or two.

One thing I really liked about the first movie was, as you can read in my review about that one,  that it was a no bullshit, kill the bad guys and no emotional regrets, kind of movie. John Wick went all out for revenge and at the same time we got introduced into this cool world of assassins, safe havens, hidden “shops” for guns, classy tailors providing bullet proof costumes etc. etc.

In this movie he is forced onto a job by a real asshole. He is constantly reluctant and walks around with a sad puppy face all the time. Of course said asshole screws him halfway through the movie and that would have been a good time to start get back on track with some decent payback story but unfortunately the script writers thought otherwise. After some more of the same shit no one really wins in the end (although one of the two adversaries suffer a more “permanent” setback than the other).

Worse is that, in my opinion, in their eager to put together some crap drama this movie essentially screwed up the possibilities for a John Wick 3 unless they pull some rather big surprise rabbit out of the hat for that one.

There are plenty of action in the movie of course but also her I feel that it was a bit too over the top. No one, absolutely no one, seems to be able to shoot straight except for John Wick. This makes the action feel more like a parody a’la Kill Bill than a more serious action, revenge movie. Yes it is cool to watch but only up to a point. Heck, if this would have been a Star Trek (TOS) episode Hollywood’s entire supply of red shirts would have been used up on a single movie. While I am bitching I should perhaps also mention that the amount of beating that John Wick seems to be able to absorb is … unbelievable.

I did enjoy the movie but not at all as much as I hoped I would. To me it has a completely different spirit than what I remember from the first one and the ending is, again to me at least, not a happy one.

Having said that the action sequences are as cool, crazy but cool, and violent as they are unbelievable. I found it a bit sad that they wrecked his nice car though.

Overall a enjoyable movie but no match for the first chapter and I cannot bring myself to give it more than 3 out of 5 stars.

Update: I re-watched John Wick (the first chapter) the other evening and wow. The first one is so good. This one is indeed quite a lot inferior to the first one. How someone can say that the two movies are consistent is beyond me.

5 comments

  1. Yeah, I wasn’t enthralled by it like I was with 1. I watched it again today with my brother and it just reinforced that I don’t want to buy it. We’ll see how 3 turns out though. If I like that a bunch, I’ll buy 2 as well just to bridge the gap. If I don’t like 3, then at least 1 ends on a pretty good note.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ehhh pretty sure you need to re-watch this movie. Actually, you probably need to re-watch both of them. From what you said you didn’t understand either of them but especially this one.

      This movie is very consistent with the first. You do understand the suit is bulletproof right? Hence why he pulls it over his head time to time. They explain it pretty well when he’s buying a new wardrobe.

      No possibilities of a third? There’s already an agreement for a third. They made it into a trilogy. Also, the story pretty much makes it obvious what the third one will be about. There’s no mystery at all to that.

      Unlike the first one the movies main point isn’t revenge. It’s more of a man handcuffed due to his previous life as an assassin. Now it’s survival (the third one will be 100% about survival).

      I’m actually shocked with the points you made. It’s like you didn’t even watch the movie or wasn’t paying attention at all. I suggest watching it again. Maybe a second time you’ll realize what you missed and maybe you’ll come to see how great it is.

      Like

      1. You actually replied to bookstoge but I suspect that the reply was actually to my post. Bookstoge is of course welcome to correct me.

        Hmmm, why would I need to re-watch the movie? I am fairly sure I was awake when watching it and my post details my personal take on it, nothing more and nothing less. To come on and say that I did not “understand” the movie just because I do not share your opinion about it is somewhat pretentious I would say.

        “This movie is very consistent with the first.”

        No it is not.

        “You do understand the suit is bulletproof right?”

        You obviously do not understand what a bulletproof suit can and cannot do. Try to get shot in one and then we see if you are actually still standing or not.

        “They explain it pretty well when he’s buying a new wardrobe.”

        I do not need to have a bulletproof suit explained to me.

        ” There’s already an agreement for a third.”

        If you knew something at all about the movie world it means nothing. It is quite possible that they actually do make a third one but unless they pull a few rabbits out of their hats I do not see me liking it very much.

        “Also, the story pretty much makes it obvious what the third one will be about. There’s no mystery at all to that.”

        Wow, you seem to have inside information…or not. The story will be what they think will sell tickets when they make it. Full stop.

        “I’m actually shocked with the points you made. It’s like you didn’t even watch the movie or wasn’t paying attention at all. I suggest watching it again. Maybe a second time you’ll realize what you missed and maybe you’ll come to see how great it is.”

        That is both pretentious and rude. It has obviously not occurred to you that not everyone shares your opinion about the movie. This movie was far from great…in my opinion. If you liked it, good for you. However trying to suggest that people who do not share your opinion has not paid attention and needs to re-watch it to arrive at the conclusion that you have decided is the “right one” is, well, not very polite.

        You liked the movie. I did NOT like the movie as much as you did. Get over it kid.

        A last point. I will not have a flame war on my site so if you want to reply then get that large chip off your shoulder first.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

