Miscellaneous

Changed from 10 stars to 5 stars.

I thought that I should just mention in case anyone noticed and are wondering, I am changing my ratings from X out of 10 stars to X out of 5 stars.

I thought that I should just mention in case anyone noticed and are wondering, I am changing my ratings from X out of 10 stars to X out of 5 stars.

Why? Well I decided that I myself feel more comfortable with only 5 stars. I always ended up debating with myself how many stars I should give and looking into the past I see that my ratings are not always consistent. I also hesitated a lot before giving a book or movie 10 stars since I was always finding some excuse why the book or movie was not perfect. Are there any perfect books or movies actually? With only 5 stars all great books or movies that really deserves the highest rating are more likely to get it.

Another reason is of course than this way my ratings match what I give on Goodreads and a few other rating sites that uses 5 stars.

So, now my ratings are:

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Excellent!

Great book, a must read

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Very Good

Very good book. Well worth reading.

⭐ Good

A good book that I enjoyed but nothing that sticks out of the crowd.

⭐ Disappointing

Disappointing and below average.

⭐ Utter crap!

Utter crap! Should never have been published.

As before, remember that this is not a professional site but one where I combine my interests, books, movies and computing. The reviews will be colored, even biased, by my personal opinions and tastes.

2 comments

  1. Thanks for the explanation. Always glad to read how/why people rate their reads. I know I have started using half stars, but I have my 1-5 pretty set, so the half stars only apply when I feel that something is a weak or strong Xstar rating.

    Like

    1. Yeah, there are pro’s and con’s with both. I started with 5 stars then went to 10 and now I will try 5 again for a while and see if I feel comfortable with it. I was thinking that if a book or movie was hovering in no mans land between stars I would expand on that in the text of the post.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

