Books Military Miscellaneous Science Fiction Space Opera

That Which Other Men Cannot Do – The ending ruined the entire series for me!

I should mention right away that my appreciation of this book (or rather lack thereof) is heavily tainted by my personal opinions. As far as I am concerned the ending pretty much ruined the entire series for me. To me the ending is not only highly tragic but also reeks of cheap Hollywood style chock-the-audience type of cliff-hanger ending. I am not even sure if it is a cliff-hanger ending since it is the end of Part I and it remains to be seen if Part II follows directly in the time line or not. I know that I am a sucker for happy endings so I try to give some leeway for bad endings but this one was so far out on the other end of my scale that I simply cannot bring myself to forgive it.

That Which Other Men Cannot Do (The Frontiers Saga #15) by Ryk Brown
My rating: 4 out of 10 stars

That Which Other Men Cannot DoNew forces grow…
Old friends are lost…
New alliances are forged…
Old weapons are made new…

With political unrest growing, the Alliance must rush to rebuild their fleet and expand their ‘sphere of influence’ before their support runs out. But when the Jung up the ante, the Alliance must turn up the heat.

Captain Nathan Scott and the Sol-Pentaurus Alliance must put everything on the line to save the Sol sector once and for all.

“That Which Other Men Cannot Do” is a 160,000 word novel, and is the 15th and final episode of Part I of The Frontiers Saga.

I should mention right away that my appreciation of this book (or rather lack thereof) is heavily tainted by my personal opinions. As far as I am concerned the ending pretty much ruined the entire series for me. To me the ending is not only highly tragic but also reeks of cheap Hollywood style chock-the-audience type of cliff-hanger ending. I am not even sure if it is a cliff-hanger or the very-final-real-end ending since it is the end of Part I and it remains to be seen if Part II follows directly in the time line or not. I know that I am a sucker for happy endings so I try to give some leeway for bad endings but this one was so far out on the other end of my scale that I simply cannot bring myself to forgive it.

The majority of the book is quite okay. The fight against the Jung continues. There are quite a bit of build up of forces and fortifications. All our (remaining) old friends are back and there are of course quite a bit of action going on. The Jung are getting quite a few surprises along the way although they also demonstrate what kind of ruthless, criminal scumbags they are…on a planetary scale.

Unfortunately a political element is introduced in the form of a despicable Admiral inclined to political scheming and such deplorable nonsense. As usual when politically inclined people stick their fingers where they should not be, which for politicians is most places, this is to the detriment of most people and in this case the remaining free humans. Well, at least it might be if this douchebag’s plans succeeds. I could definitely have been without that nonsense.

However, what gripes me the most about this book is the absolutely lousy ending. I simply hate it! The fact that this book was the ending of the entire 15 book series that, according to the author, constitutes Part I only makes it so much worse. Obviously I cannot really describe exactly why I hate it since that would undoubtedly create a mega-spoiler but, needless to say, I have rarely been so disappointed in the ending of a book series. Really a shame since the rest of the series have given me much enjoyment.

One comment

Leave a Reply

