Books Kindle Urban Fantasy

Death’s Rival – The best in the series so far.

From a somewhat mediocre start this series have improved quite a lot. This book is a good mix of action and research. I do like Jane's new companions and I do especially like, that she has become quite a bad-ass. By the way I am sure the usage of bad-ass will be censored by the ludicrous review filter at Amazon which I am quite frankly feed up with. I will not bother anymore to rewrite reviews of books intended for an adult audience if Amazon's hypocritical review rules prevent me from using words that the rest of the world consider (and yes Amazon, the rest of the world is not just US), rather mild to say the least. [...]

Death’s Rival (Jane Yellowrock #5) by Faith Hunter
My rating: 8 out of 10 stars

Death's RivalFor a vampire killer like Jane, having Leo Pellisier as a boss took some getting used to. But now, someone is out to take his place as Master Vampire of the city of New Orleans, and is not afraid to go through Jane to do it. After an attack that’s tantamount to a war declaration, Leo knows his rival is both powerful and vicious, but Leo’s not about to run scared. After all, he has Jane. But then, a plague strikes, one that takes down vampires and makes their masters easy prey.

Now, to uncover the identity of the vamp who wants Leo’s territory, and to find the cause of the vamp-plague, Jane will have to go to extremes…and maybe even to war.

From a somewhat mediocre start this series has improved quite a lot. This book is a good mix of action, urban fantasy and research. I do like Jane’s new companions and I do especially like that she has become quite a bad-ass. By the way I am sure the usage of the word “bad-ass” will be censored by the ludicrous review filter at Amazon which I am quite frankly feed up with. I will not bother anymore to rewrite reviews of books intended for an adult audience if Amazon’s hypocritical review rules prevent me from using words that the rest of the world consider (and yes Amazon, the rest of the world is not just US) rather mild to say the least.

Anyway, with that frustration out of the way, I quite liked this book. As I wrote, Jane has become quite a bit of a bad-ass and she is indeed dealing out quite a bit of pain in this book. As usual the book is a mixture of action and investigative work. This time trying to track down the mysterious vampire (or should I say Mithran) decease and who is behind it.

The quest leads her on path that culminates in a somewhat spectacular confrontation with an ancient enemy of the skinwalkers. I quite liked this. The build up was well done, the action was well done, the final confrontation was well done. As I wrote above, Jane has become quite a bad-ass. The way she is packing weaponry, and the specific descriptions of the weaponry in question, makes me think of a Larry Correia novel. Sadly she is deprived of said weaponry in the big final fight but lets just say that her natural abilities more than make up for it.

Then I have to have to say that things went a bit sour. It feels a bit like the author desperately tried to create some final moments of tension. I would have been quite happy with the book more or less ending after the final clobbering between the vampire factions and the bad guy getting what deserved.

I would have been quite happy even after the very final revelation, which I have to say I did not see coming, but that shooting interlude just to mess things up between Jane and one of her (many) boyfriends just felt tiresome.

Bottom line is that I definitely think this book was the best in the series so far. Now I am looking forward to the next instalment in the series.

One comment

Leave a Reply

