Books Kindle Urban Fantasy

Spider’s Trap – Enjoyable, fairly free-standing, story in the Elemental Assassin series

Spider’s Trap (Elemental Assassin #13) by Jennifer Estep
My rating: 8 out of 10 stars

Spider's TrapKeep your friends close but your enemies within stabbing distance.

One important lesson I’ve learned in the assassination business is that to be the best you have to roll with the punches. Now that I’m queen of Ashland’s underworld—by default, not by choice—a lot more punches are being thrown my way. But I suppose that’s the price of victory for taking down some of the underworld’s top dogs. Good thing I have my Ice and Stone magic to help me survive my volatile new position. Just when I think things are finally settling down, someone tries to murder me during a hush-hush underworld meeting. But the real surprise is how strangely familiar my shadowy assailant seems to be.

My job is to maintain order among killers, crooks, and thieves, and soon I’m embroiled in a bloody game where the ability to keep secrets could be the greatest superpower of all. My enemies have all sharpened their knives and laid their traps, waiting for me to fall. But this Spider weaves her own webs of death…

With the Monroe story arc finally brought to a conclusion we are served a new story and a new villain in this book. However, this book appears to be more free-standing than the other books. Yes there are tie-ins to Gin’s past and all that but the story appears to be more of a completed, single, Gin (Spider) Blanco adventure than the previous long running story arc. Nothing wrong with that though.

The book is a traditional Elemental Assassin book. Gin is herself, that is the usual no bullshit assassin that we are used to. Naturally she is surrounded by her faithful friends. I do like her new vampire “secretary”. She is now also the head of the Ashland underworld which brings with it a whole new set of headaches. No rest for the wicked, not even the good wicked ones.

Naturally the new villain is a powerful elemental who has a few surprises in store for Gin although I had to say that Gin, who managed to take out Mab in a direct confrontation using raw elemental power, felt a bit too much on the week side in this book. She never seemed to use her powers properly but stumbled around being sucker punched almost until the very end. Some of the things she did where downright stupid, like taking that long to figure out that she should replace her metal knifes with something more suitable for the occasion for example.

The main villain himself is actually a wee bit bland in my opinion but he is complemented with a few additional characters who, while not really being the bad guys, are important parts of the plot and who makes up for the blandness of the villain.

It is a good book. Maybe not the best in the series but definitely good. Decent story, a few surprises and revelations, good writing, plenty of action and Gin and her friends are simply so much fun to read about. As usual I am looking forward to the next instalment in the series.

Leave a Reply

