Books Fantasy Magic

Love’s Labor’s Won – Another great book in this series

Love’s Labor’s Won (Schooled In Magic) by Christopher Nuttall
My rating: 9 out of 10 stars

Love's Labor's WonTwo families, alike in dignity…and armed with powerful magic.

The Magical Families of Ashworth and Ashfall have been feuding for countless years, ever since something happened to split one family into two. Now, they have been invited to Cockatrice Faire… when no other magician would dare invite them both. And when it becomes clear that the Ashworth Heir and the Ashfall Heir have fallen in love with one another, Emily finds herself caught in the middle between two powerful families, each one capable of destroying her once and for all…

This is another a very good book in the Schooled in Magic series although I have to say that I am somewhat concerned about the direction the stories in this universe seems to be going. I quite like this world and I would like to continue to read about Emily’s adventures in this magical world. I do not mind the archaic way the world is governed or the outdated way women sometimes are looked at. It is part of the charm of these book and it is fiction after all. Therefore I am not too happy reading about trends where magic appears to be replaced by science. I was even less happy when dissidents where introduced and Emily made references to Karl Marx. Please Mr. Nuttall, do not destroy this lovely magical world!

Now when that is over with as I wrote above this is a very good book. Emily embarks on yet another learning experience and we see some interesting developments of her magical ideas. The base story for this book is not really about fighting magical monsters or necromancers but more of social interactions, family feuds and marriages which normally would put it outside of my comfort zone. However, once again Mr. Nuttall manages to not only keep my interest throughout the entire book but also to make me really like it.

Emily’s friends are present of course as well as a few enemies. Of course Emily manages to make a few new ones along the way although some of the old ones might have turned from foe to friend. The new enemies are more than likely to have quite an impact on future books though.

As usual it is a rocky road for Emily and she stumbles more than once, usually due to her naïve attitude to a great many things. I know that she is young but still, sometimes I wonder what she is thinking. She does manage to resolve her problems though although I am a bit irked by everyone telling her how stupid and reckless she has been and she just sucks it up. I think she did a pretty good job in the end and I quite liked the display of force she made.

The last book ended in somewhat of a cliffhanger or at least a very intriguing mystery involving a hooded man. I had some hopes that this would be picked up on in this book but it appears that Mr. Nuttall decided to “suck on that piece of candy for a while longer” as is the saying is in Sweden. He also added another open thread at the end of this one. I would say that life is about to become even more complicated for Emily in the future.

As usual I am looking forward to the next book in the series.

Leave a Reply

