Books Urban Fantasy

Storm Front: I am a bit split about this one but mostly leaning towards the positive

Storm FrontStorm Front (The Dresden Files #1) by Jim Butcher
My rating: 6 out of 10 stars

HARRY DRESDEN — WIZARD Lost Items Found. Paranormal Investigations. Consulting. Advice. Reasonable Rates. No Love Potions, Endless Purses, or Other Entertainment.

Harry Dresden is the best at what he does. Well, technically, he’s the only at what he does. So when the Chicago P.D. has a case that transcends mortal creativity or capability, they come to him for answers. For the “everyday” world is actually full of strange and magical things—and most don’t play well with humans. That’s where Harry comes in. Takes a wizard to catch a—well, whatever. There’s just one problem. Business, to put it mildly, stinks. So when the police bring him in to consult on a grisly double murder committed with black magic, Harry’s seeing dollar signs. But where there’s black magic, there’s a black mage behind it. And now that mage knows Harry’s name. And that’s when things start to get interesting.

I am a wee bit split about this book but I am mostly leaning towards the positive. I had quite a bit of difficulty deciding whether I should give it 4 stars on Goodreads or only 3 though. In the end I gave it 3 which gives plenty of room for improvement of the series.

Harry Dresden is a magician. He is also a private investigator. When reading this book I could not help but get visions of Mike Hammer with a magic staff in my head. The similarities are really very superficial though.

This is the first urban fantasy book I’ve read after having finished Hunted in The Iron Druid Chronicles series and after having read that book it was very enjoyable to get back to a urban fantasy book with a decently intelligent story and dialogue. This book is the first book in the series so as usual the book have that “first try” or “startup” feeling over it.

Most of the book is nice reading. The story is not bad at all, holds together and have plenty of good old-fashioned magic encounters in it in between the more “mundane” detective work. In general I liked reading it.

There are a few things that made me become split over what I really thought over the book though. The most important issue I have is that I felt that Harry was a bit wimpy. I would have liked him better if he would really have been more of a hard boiled detective a’la “Mike Hammer with magic” than going around throwing up as well as getting beaten up every so often.

I also am not too happy with this White Council and their rules of magic not being allowed to harm a human and all that. I feel this is kind of restraining the character too much and gives me a bit of deja vue a’la “Star Trek Prime Directive” which was used way too often to screw up the story.

Well, apart from that, as I wrote above, I generally liked the book and number two in the series will definitely go onto my reading list.

Leave a Reply

