Books Magic Monsters Urban Fantasy

Hexed: This book series is growing on me

HexedHexed (The Iron Druid Chronicles #2) by Kevin Hearne
My rating: 8 out of 10 stars

Atticus O’Sullivan, last of the Druids, doesn’t care much for witches. Still, he’s about to make nice with the local coven by signing a mutually beneficial nonaggression treaty—when suddenly the witch population in modern-day Tempe, Arizona, quadruples overnight. And the new girls are not just bad, they’re badasses with a dark history on the German side of World War II.

With a fallen angel feasting on local high school students, a horde of Bacchants blowing in from Vegas with their special brand of deadly decadence, and a dangerously sexy Celtic goddess of fire vying for his attention, Atticus is having trouble scheduling the witch hunt. But aided by his magical sword, his neighbor’s rocket-propelled grenade launcher, and his vampire attorney, Atticus is ready to sweep the town and show the witchy women they picked the wrong Druid to hex.

I have to say that The Iron Druid Chronicles are growing on me. When I read the first book in the series I was a bit taken by surprise by how immature O’Sullivan was behaving given that he was supposed to be an over two millenia old druid. This and a few other things put me off a bit when reading the first book.

However, I thought the book was definitely good enough for me to give one more instalment a go and so, here we are. I have read Hexed which is the second book in the series. The somewhat “boyish” behaviour of O’Sullivan is no longer a surprise so it doesn’t really disturb me as much as in the first book. His rather care-free gung-ho attitude can actually be rather fun at times.

I have also grown accustomed to his conversations with his Irish Wolfhound which are fairly ridiculous if you give yourself time to think about it but are also really funny if you try not to be to serious about it. We are talking about a fantasy novel after all. But I guess a dog not only using words to communicate but words like discombobulating (I had to look that one up) might not be to the liking of everyone.

One thing that I like, and which I liked already in the first book, is that the main character is not only likable but a very positive person not running around doing a bunch of self-loathing and feeling sorry for himself. Even when he suffers quite a bit of a down-event in the book he keeps his spirit and is more interested in kicking some serious behind rather than go around harping about how he could have done things differently.

Our friends from the first book are back of course and his new apprentice, the neighbouring widow as well as O’Sullivans lawyers are as likable as always. I’m even starting to like the local witch coven. The various Irish gods are of course back as well although they kind of wiggle around being likable and not so likable. And of course there are a few new acquaintances on the definitely-not-likable side.

There are plenty of action in the book as well. Witches, hexes, golems and demons are thrown around fairly liberally. The story is rather simple but works quite well for this kind of book. Most of it is concentrated on the main plot of the book which has a clear beginning, middle and end which I like. Sure there are few threads that continues from the first book and will continue in the next one(s) as well but it is a book with a clear conclusion which does not leave you with any “oh no” cliffhangers at the end of the book.

On the whole I would say that I found this book quite entertaining and I did not hesitate to put the next one on my to-read shelf after having finished this one.

Leave a Reply

