Books Magic Monsters Urban Fantasy

Hounded: Fairly enjoyable. Will read at least one more before making up my mind.

HoundedHounded (The iron Druid Chronicles #1) by Kevin Hearne
My rating: 7 out of 10 stars

Atticus O’Sullivan, last of the Druids, lives peacefully in Arizona, running an occult bookshop and shape-shifting in his spare time to hunt with his Irish wolfhound. His neighbors and customers think that this handsome, tattooed Irish dude is about twenty-one years old—when in actuality, he’s twenty-one centuries old. Not to mention: He draws his power from the earth, possesses a sharp wit, and wields an even sharper magical sword known as Fragarach, the Answerer.

Unfortunately, a very angry Celtic god wants that sword, and he’s hounded Atticus for centuries. Now the determined deity has tracked him down, and Atticus will need all his power—plus the help of a seductive goddess of death, his vampire and werewolf team of attorneys, a sexy bartender possessed by a Hindu witch, and some good old-fashioned luck of the Irish—to kick some Celtic arse and deliver himself from evil.

Overall I have to say that I enjoyed this book. Enough that I will be reading at least one more before I make up my mind completely. I like the general idea of the story. The main character is a likable person although I have some gripes about him. Specifically I have a bit of difficulty with a 2000 year old druid behaving like a somewhat immature American youngster. I know that the book states that he tries to put on an act to “blend in” and not be discovered but still. I would have expected more experience and dignity, especially when dealing with various not-so-human foes.

Nonetheless, as I wrote, the character is likable, he does not run around and feel sorry for himself as a lot of authors make their main character do, his dialogues with his Irish wolfhound are at times quite entertaining and when the action starts he has no qualms about doing some head-chopping with that sword of his.

The story is fairly okay although a lot of characters and, especially, various non-human entities and gods are thrown at the reader in a fairly short time. It is the first book in a series so one have to expect a bit of stage setting and character introduction but it did feel a bit overwhelming. It was like all the ammunition was expended in the first couple of chapters. A bit more mystery and slower pace of the revelations would have made the good stuff last a bit longer.

The Iron Druid himself is of course not the only character in the book. I have to say that I liked both Atticus’ lawyers (yes lawyers, it is awful I know) as well as his old widow neighbour with a rather hilarious dislike to British people. In general I found this book a fairly enjoyable one although there were a few downs as well as ups when reading it. It is the first book in a series so it is not very surprising that it wobbles around a bit before settling in. I am looking forward to read the next one though and see if the series settles in on the up-side or down-side of things.

One comment

Leave a Reply

