Books Magic Urban Fantasy

The Spider – This is one book in the Elemental Assassin series that I could have been without

The SpiderThe Spider (Elemental Assassin, #10) by Jennifer Estep
My rating: 4 out of 10 stars

How did I end up in a career where I always have blood on my hands? Well, let me tell you a story about an assassin who thought she could do no wrong. . . .

 

Ten years ago. A blistering hot August night. I remember like it was yesterday. The night I, Gin Blanco, truly became the Spider. Killing people is what I do best, especially now that I’ve honed my Ice and Stone magic. But back then, I had yet to learn one very important rule: arrogance will get you, every single time.

 

This particular job seemed simple: murder a crooked building contractor with ties to ruthless Fire elemental Mab Monroe. My mentor, Fletcher Lane, had some misgivings, but I was certain that I had the situation under control . . . right up until I exposed my weaknesses to a merciless opponent who exploited every single one of them. There’s a reason assassins aren’t supposed to feel anything. Luckily, a knife to the heart can fix that problem, especially when I’m the one wielding it. . . .

Well, this is definitely a book in the Elemental Assassin series that I could have been without. I have never liked prequels in the first place so maybe I am a bit biased but I really felt like this book just takes all the bad parts of the series and puts them together in one book.

One of the nuisances with the series is that the author re-tells known facts over and over again. With a prequel this is even more so. Also, unfortunately the book blurb is blatantly false. This book does not at all tell us how Gin ended up in a career where she always have blood on her hands. When the book starts she is already in this career. The book just tells us a sad, emphasize on sad here, little story that Gin went through 10 years ago.  A story which is so simple and obvious that you really know how it is going to play out really really early in the book.

Another one of the nuisances with this series is that Gin frequently fumbles and generally behaves in a way that is not as professional as one would expect from a professional killer of Gin’s stature. In this book, given that she is 10 years younger, it is even worse. As a matter of fact the entire story revolves around how Gin just screws things up and then wallows in how stupid she has been. Not only that but pages up and pages down we are treated to the bad guy telling Gin how stupid she has been. Definitely not my cup of tea.

Even though the author tries to weave in many of her friends from the other books and how Gin met them for the first time they are not really there. At least not as the happy “family” that we have grown to like in the previous books.

Since the story plays out before Gin released her ice powers she is also quite weak. There is really not much left of the things that I have liked about this book series in this book. I could really have been without this one. I certainly hope that the next book gets things back on track again.

Leave a Reply

