Books Magic Urban Fantasy

Heart of Venom – Another good one in the series

Heart of VenomHeart of Venom (Elemental Assassin, #9) by Jennifer Estep
My rating: 8 out 10 stars

When I say you’re a dead man, take that literally.

 

To me, killing people is like a day at the salon: cut and dry. Well, more like rinse and repeat when you moonlight as the assassin the Spider. But my last spa day ended redder than my freshly painted nails after a twisted Fire elemental and his goons kidnapped my close friend Sophia Deveraux and nearly killed her sister Jo-Jo in the process.

 

Up Ashland’s most dangerous mountains, and deep into the heart of its blackest woods—I’ll track these thugs no matter where they take Sophia. It doesn’t matter what kinds of elemental magic they try to throw at me, my Ice and Stone powers can take the heat and then some. I will get Sophia back, over their dead bodies.

 

Because anybody that hurts Gin Blanco’s family becomes a body.

This is another of the better books in this book series. As usual there is a bad guy for Gin to take out. This time however there is a nice twist in that it is an old “acquaintance” of Sophia and Jo-Jo and as the story progresses we get to know the background story of the Goth dwarf, why she have her raspy voice and why she always takes care of the “leftovers” after Gin’s various adventures.

As usual Gin and her friends leaves a trail of bodies in Gin’s normal “bad-ass” style. During the process Gin and Owen also comes to a conclusion of their little differences since a few books back. I still fail to grasp why some people keeps harping about how bad Owen is since that episode. I cannot help wonder if they read the same books as me.

Otherwise this book follows the same style as previous books although as a whole I felt this book was one of the better ones. Finn, Bria and now also Philip adds to the fun as usual and the whole mix ends up being a quite enjoyable read. I am certainly looking forward to see where the M.M. Monroe thread will lead although unfortunately, from what I understand, the next book in the series is actually a prequel.

Leave a Reply

