Books Military Science Fiction Space Opera

Resistance – Another good episode in The Frontiers Saga

ResistanceResistance (The Frontiers Saga, #9) by Ryk Brown
My rating: 9 out of 10 stars

A chance to gain much needed resources…
A group of highly trained, merciless soldiers…
A half-completed ship on a trajectory to nowhere…
A lone operative on familiar yet dangerous ground…

Captain Scott and the crew of the Aurora have a chance to get everything they need to liberate their home world, but they may have to fight someone else’s war first.

This is another good book in The Frontiers Saga. This book series currently stands at 9 instalments and apart from the 7th I have liked all of them quite a lot. Not even the 7th was really bad but not really as good as the other ones. At least not in my eyes. On Goodreads I gave this book 4 stars. I would quite like to be able to give half stars on Goodreads in which case it would have gotten 4 1/2.

I really do like to follow the adventures of Captain Scott and his crew. The author have created a great universe with a lot of interesting and, mostly, likable characters. In this book he introduces a few new interesting ones. One of them coming in the form of the Ghatazhak which, although they were kind of “introduced” in a previous instalment, have not had a role to play until now.

After the previous book I thought that the stage was set for some serious Jung butt-kicking but, although there are indeed some Jung butt-kicking in this book, it is not the one I expected. Instead the author keeps us waiting for that dish that is “best served cold” a little while longer. It was not what I expected, or maybe I should say hoped for, but I cannot say that I mind too much since the book was quite good anyway and now I still have something to look forward to.

I do not think I am spoiling things too much when I say that the Aurora are, for once, in a better shape at the end of the book than at the beginning of it which also helps keeping my happiness level up. Having said that the Aurora herself do not play a significant role in this book other than as a command center and means of transportation and even the latter is barely due to the unfortunate events in the previous book.

If there is not that much going on in space there are more happening dirtside. Given the title of the book I do not think I really have to spell out the general nature of those events. Ryk Brown is quite good at writing dirtside stories as well as space ones and this book is no exception to that. I have to say that I like the ship to ship battles in space best though.

Anyway, I enjoyed the book very much and am now, again, looking forward to the next one. These books are simple and fun adventure stories. Nothing more but certainly nothing less.

Leave a Reply

