Books Urban Fantasy

Web of Lies – More badass chick kicking butt, I like it!

Web of LiesWeb of Lies (Elemental Assassin, #2) by Jeniffer Estep
My rating: 8 out of 10 stars

I’m Gin Blanco.

You might know me as the Spider, the most feared assassin in the South. I’m retired now, but trouble still has a way of finding me. Like the other day when two punks tried to rob my popular barbecue joint, the Pork Pit. Then there was the barrage of gunfire on the restaurant. Only, for once, those kill shots weren’t aimed at me. They were meant for Violet Fox. Ever since I agreed to help Violet and her grandfather protect their property from an evil coalmining tycoon, I’m beginning to wonder if I’m really retired. So is Detective Donovan Caine. The only honest cop in Ashland is having a real hard time reconciling his attraction to me with his Boy Scout mentality. And I can barely keep my hands off his sexy body. What can I say? I’m a Stone elemental with a little Ice magic thrown in, but my heart isn’t made of solid rock. Luckily, Gin Blanco always gets her man . . . dead or alive.

This is the second book in the Elemental Assassin series and it follows fairly directly on from the first one. Having said that, both books are really finished episodes with “only” a background thread following on from book to book.

I liked this book as much as I liked the first one. Gin continues to be the same badass in this book as she was in the first one. She has retired from being an assassin for hire but this, of course, do not stop her from getting herself involved in some business requiring her unique skills. The story is not going to win any prices but it is not bad and is good enough tie together the events and the action. Gin and Caine’s relationship is also “developing”, for lack of better word, and I hope that the conclusion in the book stays that way. I was getting fairly tired of hearing Caine moan about “”how Gin could not just kill people” and how bad a conscience Caine has for letting her do it.

As part of Gin’s character development in this book Gin’s elemental powers are also developing. Unfortunately it appears that the author is still making Gin cling to her idea of not wanting to rely on her powers for various reasons that I do not really agree with. It is urban fantasy and she is the hero after all. I want to read about Gin kicking ass with her elemental powers. While we’re at it, some people have complained that the author is recapping explanations and events from the first book too much. I have to agree with them that there is a bit of space wasted on repeating things that have already been written at least once before. However, I also have to say that I was not to the extent that I really became greatly bothered by it. At least not in this book.

Bottom line is that I quite enjoyed reading about badass Gin Blanco. The writing is quite okay, the dialog matches her attitude, the action is fun, the characters interesting enough. I am indeed looking forward to read the next book although, since The Lost Stars: Perilous Shield came out on the 1st of October, I think I will make a detour into the universe of Black Jack Geary first.

My Book Collection

Leave a Reply

