Books Magic Urban Fantasy

Spider’s Bite – Badass, taking no bullshit chick kicks butts. Quite enjoyable reading

Spider's BiteSpider’s Bite (Elemental Assassin, #1) by Jennifer Estep
My rating: 8 out of 10 stars

They call me the Spider. I’m the most feared assassin in the South — when I’m not busy at the Pork Pit cooking up the best barbecue in Ashland. As a Stone elemental, I can hear everything from the whispers of the gravel beneath my feet to the vibrations of the soaring Appalachian Mountains above me. My Ice magic also comes in handy for making the occasional knife. But I don’t use my powers on the job unless I absolutely have to. Call it professional pride.

Now that a ruthless Air elemental has double-crossed me and killed my handler, I’m out for revenge. And I’ll exterminate anyone who gets in my way — good or bad. I may look hot, but I’m still one of the bad guys. Which is why I’m in trouble, since irresistibly rugged Detective Donovan Caine has agreed to help me. The last thing this coldhearted killer needs when I’m battling a magic more powerful than my own is a sexy distraction…especially when Donovan wants me dead just as much as the enemy.

I quite enjoyed this book. Gin, or The Spider, is a badass chick killing the unfortunate people that crosses her path and humps the (few) ones that she does not kill with the same enthusiasm. The descriptions of said activities are in no way over the top but they are indeed graphical enough for me to feel that this is more of an adult book.

Since I have relatively recently read the first two books in the Mercy Thompson series it is difficult for me not to compare them. Both have the same basic setting, girl with magic powers in urban fantasy setting goes on adventures. That is pretty much where the similarities ends though. Mercy wallows in her own perceived misery, she is weak and always the underdog and the books are quite slow to get anywhere. Gin is really Mercy’s opposite. Gin is a I-do-not-take-any-bullshit chick that frequently solves her issues by eliminating the people causing them from the equation.

The book is good enough written. It advances the story at a decent pace. The story itself is perhaps not the most brilliant or original one that I have read but there is nothing really wrong with it and it serves as a decent enough reason for some action. The background environment is not at all as detailed and developed in this book as in the Mercy Thompson series though. Vampires, dwarfs, giants are there but mostly they just act as any other person. The fact that they are vampires, dwarfs and giants is almost just glossed over.

Bottom line is that I enjoyed this book quite a lot. I enjoyed it quite a bit more than the Mercy Thompson books primarily because of the more straightforward action and kick-ass main character.

My Book Collection

Leave a Reply

