Action Adventure DVD Movies Science Fiction

Captain Sky and the World of Tomorrow – I am not convinced

Captain SkyCaptain Sky and the World of Tomorrow by Kerry Konran on Blu-ray
My rating: 5 out of 10 stars

In 1939, an intrepid reporter in New York City makes a connection between the story she’s covering– of famous scientists suddenly disappearing around the world, and a recent attack on the city by giant robots. Determined to find the solution to these happenings, she seeks the help of her ex-boyfriend, the captain of a mercenary legion of pilots. The two are investigating the case when the robots attack the city again, though in a stroke of luck, Sky Captain’s right hand man is able to locate their source. They then set off on an adventure in search of the evil mastermind behind these schemes, who is bent on creating a utopia and destroying the current world

This is a movie that had passed under my radar. I discovered it from a fellow blogger’s site, Today I Watched A Movie, and I thought why not? The actors where not exactly totally unknowns and it seems to be a fair amount of Sci-Fi special effects in there so… Unfortunately I could not get hold of the movie on Blu-ray. On Amazon I could find a few used copies sold by private persons at ridiculous prices. The only new copy I could get hold of was a DVD and I think this might have diminished my enjoyment of the movie somewhat. See more below.

Now, this is a somewhat weird movie. It appears to be some kind of tribute to adventure books and comics from the 1930’s. The male hero is a Biggles type of person but the plot is quite a bit more Sci-Fi style. The movie is very styled visually with a 30’s art deco look to it. It is an interesting movie to watch. Unfortunately a lot of the movie, especially in the beginning of the movie is very fuzzy and the colour depth seems very shallow somehow. This continues throughout a lot of the movie and does not really improve until our two heroes get to the obligatory secret island of the evil mastermind. It is possible that this effect is intentional but I get a feeling that it is worsened or distorted by my DVD copy. I have seen both DVD’s and, especially, Blu-ray’s with various kind of softening effects and it was okay although I never really like those effects. On this movie however, the effect is really bad. It was downright annoying to watch.

As for the story, it is a very 30’s style of simplistic action/adventure/hero style of story. That is, fast paced and a fair amount of action but at the same time fairly shallow and quite ridiculous and unbelievable. It has the usual elements of such a story, male and female heroes, evil mastermind, the usual drop you gun clumsy, lying chick, forever burning fuses etc. etc… The walking, flying and diving mechanical contraptions are quite cool though, ridiculously unbelievable but cool nonetheless.

The characters also fit the rest of the movie as in being fairly shallow and stereotypical. There is the male overcome-everything-and-save-the-world hero of course. There is the female does-everything-for-a-story-lies-through-her-teeth-and-screws-most-things-up journalist and of course a few odd side-kicks and other characters of which Angelina Jolie as Franky would be the most prominent.

On the whole it is an interesting movie and one I am not unhappy that I have watched but I am not exactly convinced that it is a really good film either. It could of course be due to the very annoying picture quality for much of the movie which also might be worsened by my DVD copy but I am not sure the film would have appealed to me that much anyway. There is a tad too much cheap 30’s serials over it for my taste. I’m sure that is intentional and as such it is indeed a success but I am afraid it is not my cup of tea.

My Movie Collection

One comment

Leave a Reply

