Blu-ray Movies TV-Shows Western

Hell on Wheels: Season 1 – An enjoyable Western TV-series

Hell on Wheels - Season 1Hell on Wheels (Season 1) by Joe & Tony Gayton on Blu-ray
My rating: 8 out of 10 stars

Cullen Bohannan, a former soldier and slaveholder, follows the track of some Union soldiers, the killers of his wife. This brings him in the middle of one of the biggest projects in US history, the building of the transcontinental railroad.

A Blu-ray disk set with season 1 of this TV-series was actually one of my Christmas presents and we just finished watching the last episode yesterday. Certainly an enjoyable TV-series even though Westerns aren’t exactly my favorite genre. I actually had no idea what I was getting since I generally don’t read up very much on TV-series unless it is Science Fiction or Fantasy ones. Given the name I think my wife expected something a bit more “hellish” (as in supernatural).

The series is pretty much a “hard-core” western portraying the lives of a group of characters from the I-care-about-myself-only railroad tycoon to whores, railroad workers, charlatans and entertainers. Somewhere in the middle of this soup we find our hero, “Bohannan”, who is out to revenge the death of his wife and our bad guy, “The Swede”. I have to say that I took a liking to both these characters. Well, as for The Swede I liked him as much as you can like someone portraying an asshole. Both characters are interpreted very well by their respective actors. Actually most of the acting is very well done.

The story is fairly straightforward and doesn’t really dig itself down in (too much) convoluted soap-opera style vendettas and scheming. Sure, there are some backstabbing and secret agendas but on the whole the plot is more focused on action and adventure and there is indeed a fair amount of action and adventure in this series.

It is also a beautifully shot series. I am really happy that I got it on Blu-ray so I could view it in full HD quality. Whether it is a landscape (of which there are plenty) or a scene depicting the mud and dirt in the railroad camp doesn’t really matter, it was just a joy to watch.

Definitely one of the better series I have watched.

My Movie Collection

Leave a Reply

