Adventure CanalSat Childrens Fantasy Movies

The Spiderwick Chronicles – Good kids movie

The Spiderwick ChroniclesThe Spiderwick Chronicles by Mark Waters on SyFy (CanalSat)
My rating: 6 out of 10 stars

Upon moving into the run-down Spiderwick Estate with their mother, twin brothers Jared and Simon Grace, along with their sister Mallory, find themselves pulled into an alternate world full of faeries and other creatures.

I have not read the books that this movie is based on. Actually, I did not know about The Spiderwick Chronicles before I saw this movie in yesterday’s program listing from CanalSat. I tried to find the books before writing this post but it appears that the book series is not available as e-books, at least not from any of the usual vendors. It really annoys me when they cannot be bothered to (re)release books as e-books. After all, the first book came out as late as 2003 so it must really exist in digital form somewhere.

Anyway, about the movie, I quite liked it. It was in general an enjoyable children’s story and movie. My understanding was that the movie more or less compresses books 1, 2, 3 and 5 into one movie which actually sounds like a bit of a shame. I could well have imagined some more detail in the movie and maybe a movie trilogy being made.

There were, obviously, a lot of magical fairy-tale characters. Many of them were quite likable. Some of them were not so likable of course. The special effects where quite well made and the whole movie had that nice fairy-tale and mystery atmosphere about it that makes for a good children’s fantasy story.

The one thing I didn’t like with the movie, and which made me subtract a star, was the bickering, both between then children themselves and between some of the children and their mother. The bickering was not made in a fun-to-watch humorous way but it was very aggressive and downright mean. I didn’t like that at all. It kind of ruined some of the fairy-tale spirit.

All in all it was a good movie which the entire family enjoyed though.

My Movie Collection

Leave a Reply

