CanalSat Childrens Comedy Movies

Furry Vengeance – The kids loved it and I thought it was rather funny as well

Furry VengeanceFurry Vengeance by Roger Kumble on CanalSat (Cine+ Famiz)
My (family’s) rating: 7 out of 10 stars

In the Oregon wilderness, a real estate developer’s new housing subdivision faces a unique group of protesters, local woodland creatures who don’t want their homes disturbed.

We decided to watch this movie last evening on Cine+ Famiz. Normally we do not watch kid’s movies that late but it’s still the last days of the Christmas holidays for the kids so… Also, normally I don’t write a post about kid’s movies, mostly since I never get to see them since the kids usually watch them while I’m not at home.

However, this one I did watch (obviously) and I also noticed that it had been given fairly poor ratings, which I thought was a bit unfair, so I decided to write something about it.

As the title says my kids loved it and I thought it was rather funny as well. Sure, the jokes are silly, have been done before and are sometimes rather disgusting. I wasn’t to thrilled by the birds at the end of the movie that “Stuka-crapped” on everything. Sure the big bad boss was portrayed in such a silly way that it made me jump around in my chair. Sure, some of the “special effects” where obvious. Sure there was a over obvious green message which, due to the silliness of the delivery probably didn’t go over so well…with adults.

But that’s exactly where I think these poor ratings come from. This movie is, mostly, rated by adults but it is not a movie for adults. It’s a movie for kids. Kids haven’t seen all the movies that preceded this one, kids do not know that some of the jokes are old and, most of all, kids do not care. Kids still laugh when someone falls on their arse and even more so when it’s a cute but sneaky (and furry) animal that is the cause.

Most of the animal scenes where actually not too bad, even from an adult perspective. Brendan Fraser portrayed the guy slowly going nuts quite well. Myself, I think I would have given it 5 or maybe 6 stars, the kids loved it so I gave it 7.

My Movie Collection

Leave a Reply

