Books Monsters Supernatural

The President’s Vampire – Quite enjoyable read

The President's VampireThe President’s Vampire (Nathaniel Cade, #2) 
  by Christopher Farnsworth
My rating: 7 out of 10 stars

For 140 years, Nathaniel Cade has been the President’s Vampire, sworn to protect and serve his country. Cade’s existence is the most closely guarded of White House secrets: a superhuman covert agent who is the last line of defense against nightmare scenarios that ordinary citizens only dream of. When a new outbreak of an ancient evil-one that he has seen before- comes to light, Cade and his human handler, Zach Barrows, must track down its source. To "protect and serve" often means settling old scores and confronting new betrayals . . . as only a centuries-old predator can.

As with the previous book in the series, Blood Oath, I quite liked this book. As a matter of fact it’s a great book. The only reason it’s not getting another star is that this political betrayal stuff is not my favourite topic. Sure it’s bit biased but hey, this is my site and I’m not a professional reviewer so you should expect it to reflect me. At least I have a reflection…the last time I looked.

Anyway, the book continues from where the previous one left off with Zack as the “political liaison” to the presidents vampire, Nathaniel Cade. A new, actually fairly old, enemy has arisen and it’s of course up to our favourite vampire to deal with this “little”” issue threatening all of humanity.

Well, there is a third book published already so I don’t think I’m spoiling anything by saying that Zack and Cade saves the day…again. They even get the bad guy in the end which is something I quite like in my books. Cade is his usual “likable” guy and the little conversations between Cade and Zach are as enjoyable as in the first book. The same goes for the rather one-sided conversations between the bad guys and Cade.

The action is plentiful as usual but a fair amount of it done as flashbacks which I’m not too thrilled about and is another reason this book is not getting another star.

Bottom line though is that it’s a very enjoyable book and I found it a nice detour from my usual Science Fiction reading.

My Book Collection

Leave a Reply

