Books Military Science Fiction

Midshipman – Fun read but…

LieutenantMidshipman (The David Birkenhead Series, #2) by Phil Geusz
My rating: 6 out of 10 stars

In this second volume of the David Birkenhead series, our young hero has been adopted into the powerful House of Marcus. But… what can be done with a former slave-boy who’s earned his kingdom’s highest award for bravery, but who also can’t shed his Rabbithood no matter how hard he tries? Send him to the Naval Academy, of course, where he must battle loneliness and prejudice as well as the rigors of military discipline.

As I mentioned in my review of the first book in the series I wanted to see where this story went even though I had a hard time with this silly idea of making the main character a gen-manipulated rabbit.

It was a quite fun read but I still had to work hard to get past that rabbit stuff. The book is basic young kid goes through the hardship of military training with the additional twist of a military war game tournament between the kingdom and the empire.

I have to say that I thought it to be a bit illogical that all the war games was playing out old second world war battles since, for training purposes, it would have been more logical to practice using a more 3-dimensional space but that’s just a bit of nit-picking.

As I said, a fun read but quite short.

My Book Collection

Leave a Reply

