Drama DVD Movies

Midnight Express – Not my cup of tea

Midnight ExpressMidnight Express by Alan Parker on DVD
My rating: 5 out of 10 stars

Story of a man who is caught smuggling drugs out of Turkey and thrown into prison.

I can say from the start that this movie is not really my cup of tea. Prison movies never have been. Some years ago my wife used to buy a weekly TV-magazine where you got a DVD with a movie included. It was quite nice since you tended to watch movies you might not have watched otherwise. This is one of the movies we got like that but it has been sitting on my "To Watch" shelf for about three years and yesterday we finally got around to watch it.

There is really nothing wrong with this movie. On the contrary, as a piece of cinematic art it is excellent. The Turkish prison, the sadistic guard captain not to mention the mental asylum are nicely pictured.

My main problem with this movie, apart from it not really being my style of movie, is that I cannot really feel sympathy for the main person. He was stupid enough to attempt to smuggle drugs for Christ sake and stupid enough to try to run away when he got a deal going as well. Drug smugglers can rot in prison (or hell) for all I care and that tainted my view of the movie throughout it.

I gave it 5 out of 10 stars only because of its cinematic qualities but, as I said, I’m quite biased on this one so I’m sure other people would want a higher rating.

My Movie Collection

Leave a Reply

