Books Science Fiction

Citizen X – Shows promise

Citizen XCitizen X (A Galaxy Unknown – Border Patrol, #1)
    by Thomas DePrima
My rating: 4 out 5 stars

Sydnee Marcola’s greatest desire was to join the command of Admiral Jenetta Carver in Region Two, and in pursuit of that goal, she achieved top grades while at the Academy, and then again in advanced studies at the Warship Command Institute. So why have the powers that be chosen to ‘waste’ a valuable asset by sending her to a ‘backwater’ command where terminal boredom would appear to be the greatest enemy? Perhaps things aren’t destined to remain quiet for long.

Looks like I got my reviews in the wrong order. I actually read this book before The Middle of Nowhere but I didn’t have time to write something about it when I was finished and then I forgot.

Anyway, this book seems to be the start of a new series, Galaxy Unknown – Border Patrol, by Thomas DePrima. The original series, A Galaxy Unknown, is one of my favorites and I’m eagerly looking forward to the next installment in that series. This one is a spin-off that takes place in the same fictional universe as A Galaxy Unknown but in a different place and telling a different story. I’m not 100% sure when the events in this book are supposed to take place but since Admiral Hubera is still a member of the Admiralty Board it must be before Return to Dakistee in the original series.

This first book in the series is very good. It’s definitely a promising start. It’s well written in the same way the original series is. The characters are interesting and there’s a decent balance between the time spent on the characters themselves and the actual action.

I would say that the book is slightly inferior to the original series but then, it’s only the first book in a new series and there’s lots of promise in it. I have to say that I’m really dying to get to know why Sydnee was sent to this ‘backwater’ command in the first place.

A good chunk of the book is down on a planet with marines slugging through the jungle. This might be the one thing that made me feel this book was a little inferior to the original series since I’m more a space battle guy. Having said that, DePrima manages to pull this off in a way that really keeps my interest.

So, in short, a very good start and I’m looking forward to more books in this series.

My Book Collection

One comment

Leave a Reply

